South Australia

South Australia is in the southern central part of Australia. It covers some of the most arid parts of the continent. With a total land area of 983,482 square kilometres (379,725 sq mi), it is the fourth largest of Australia's states and territories. With over 1.7 million people, the state comprises less than 8% of the Australian population and ranks fifth in population among the six states and two territories. The majority of the state's population lives within Greater Adelaide's metropolitan area which had an estimated population of 1,262,940 in 2011 (77.1% of the state). Other significant population centres include Mount Gambier (28,313), Whyalla (22,489), Murray Bridge (17,152), Port Lincoln (15,682), Port Pirie (14,281), Port Augusta (14,196), and Victor Harbor (13,671).


Adelaide is the capital city of the state and has a population of 1.4 million. The the city stretches 12 miles from the coast to the foothills, and 56 miles from Gawler at its northern extent to Sellicks Beach in the south. As South Australia's seat of government and commercial centre, Adelaide is the site of many governmental and financial institutions. Most of these are concentrated in the city centre and in various districts of the metropolitan area. Adelaide is noted for is many festivals and sporting events, its food and wine, its long beach fronts, and its large defence and manufacturing sectors. In this year's global rankings, Adelaide was included in the top ten as one of the world's most liveable cities in 2018.

South Australia Skilled Nominated and Regional Visa Programmes

With invitation rounds for the Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189) currently at a level which many applicants are struggling to achieve, applying for a Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190) or a Skilled Regional visa (subclass 489) has become increasingly popular for applicants migrating to Australia. Applicants selecting these visa options are not subject to invitation rounds and can be considered for nomination with a points total of 65 (including nomination points) and will receive priority processing with the Department of Home Affairs (DHA). Applicants will also need to be nominated if their occupation only features on the Short Term Skilled Occupations List (STSOL).

State nomination helps you to obtain a skilled migration visa from the Australian Government. South Australia nominates skilled migrants who are willing to live and work in the state and who have the skills and experience required by South Australian employers. Successful applicants will have the opportunity to live and work in a city ranked the 5th most liveable in the world and will receive a wide range of settlement services from the South Australian government on arrival.

Nomination by the state of South Australia will provide:

•    Priority processing of your visa with the Department of Home Affairs (DHA)
•    An additional 5 points for a Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190)
•    An additional 10 points for a Skilled Regional (provisional) visa (subclass 489)
•    Access to a more extensive occupation list

Skilled Nominated - subclass 190

The Skilled Nominated (190) visa is a permanent visa that allows you to live anywhere in the state of south Australia.

Skilled Regional - subclass 489

The Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 489) will allow you to live and work anywhere in South Australia for up to four years. This visa can provide a pathway to Australian permanent residence (subclass 887) providing you have lived in South Australia for 2 years and worked for 1 year.

Skilled Occupations Lists

The lists of State Nominated Occupations are divided into two separate lists comprising of the State Nominated Occupations List and the Supplementary Skilled List. Some occupations are subject to "Special Conditions" which, for overseas applicants require sponsorship from a close relative settled in South Australia or High Points (currently 80).

State Nominated Occupation List

This is a list of occupations derived from the Short Term Skilled Occupations List (STSOL) that are considered to be in demand in the state of South Australia. occupations on this list have a minimum skill level and may require registration, licencing or other requirements before you can work in South Australia.

Supplementary Skilled List

The Supplementary Skilled List reflects all occupations available on the STSOL that are not available on the State Nominated Occupations List. Planning levels apply to all occupations and is subject to change.

Chain Migration

Chain migration allows you to apply for occupations listed as "Special Conditions apply" on the State occupations List or Supplementary Skilled List

You are only able to apply for a Skilled Regional Nominated visa (subclass 489) and must meet the following criteria:

  • have a bachelor degree or higher qualification
  • have a parent, sibling or grandparent (including step or adoptive) settled in South Australia
  • Your relative must be an Australian citizen , permanent resident or hold a subclass 489 visa
  • Settled in South Australia for a minimum of 24 months

High Points

If you have 80 points (including state nomination points) on the Department of Home Affairs points test, you will be able to access additional occupations (Special Conditions and Supplementary Skilled List). You can apply for a Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190) or a Skilled Regional visa (subclass 489) but, some occupations are restricted to subclass 489. To achieve the required number of points you will need to sit an English language test.


South Australia Key Selection Criteria

There is strong competition for South Australia visa nomination and meeting the minimum eligibility requirements does not guarantee nomination. All applicants must have a minimum of 1 years post-qualification work experience and for some occupations more may be required.

To be eligible to apply for South Australia government state nomination you must:

  • Be under 45 years of age at the time of invitation
  • Have an occupation on the State Nomination or Supplementary Skilled List
  • Have received a positive skills assessment from an Australian assessing authority
  • Have at least one years post-qualification work experience in your nominated occupation
  • Have at least 65 points on the Australian Department of Home Affairs points test
  • Have lodged an Expression of Interest through SkillSelect
  • Demonstrate you meet both South Australia and DHA visa eligibility requirements
  • Have a commitment to living and working in South Australia for at least the first two years
  • Have sufficient funds to support your settlement in South Australia


What to do next

If you are interested in moving to South Australia, please contact your nearest Concept Australia office for advice and assistance:

London Office - 20 minutes from London Bridge

Chislehurst Business Centre
1 Bromley Lane

Telephone: 020 8468 1076 or email:

Office hours:

Monday to Friday from 09:00 -17:30
Saturdays from 09:30 - 12.00 

Manchester Office

2nd Floor
Albion Wharf
19 Albion Street
M1 5LN

Telephone: 0161 669 5836 or email:

Office hours:

Monday to Friday 09:30 - 17:00

What visa options are there?

Choose the best option for you:




SkillSelect – Invitation rounds

SkillSelect first allocates available places to Skilled – Independent (subclass 189) visas and then remaining to Skilled – Regional...


What our clients are saying

I would like to thank you for your assistance during this process. You have been professional and attended all queries raised.