New South Wales (NSW)

New South Wales is situated on the east coast of Australia. It borders Queensland to the north, Victoria to the south, South Australia to the west and surrounds the whole of the Australian Capital Territory and it accounts for 10% percent of the total land area of Australia (800 642 km2).

The estimated population of New South Wales is 7.5 million, making it Australia's most populous state. Just under two-thirds of the state's population live in the Greater Sydney area. New South Wales' capital city is Sydney, which is also the nation's most populous city, has a population of 4,757,00. The other major residential areas are Newcastle with a population of 546,000, the Central Coast area with 321,000 and Wollongong with 207,000.


Sydney surrounds one of the world’s largest natural harbours. Its residents are known as "Sydneysiders" and constitute the most multicultural city in Australia and one of the most multicultural cities in the world. Sydney has an advanced market economy with strengths in finance, manufacturing, and tourism which attracts millions of visitors each year to see the city's landmarks such as the Sydney Harbour Bridge, Bondi Beach and the Sydney Opera House.

NSW Skilled Nominated and Regional Visa Programmes

With invitation rounds for the Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189) currently at a level which many applicants are struggling to achieve, applying for a Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190) or a Skilled Regional visa (subclass 489) has become increasingly popular for applicants migrating to Australia. Applicants selecting these visa options are not subject to invitation rounds and can be considered for nomination with a points total of 65 (including nomination points) and will receive priority processing with the Department of Home Affairs (DHA). Applicants will also need to be nominated if their occupation only features on the Short Term Skilled Occupations List (STSOL).

New South Wales runs the Skilled Nominated and Skilled Regional Nominated migration programmes in order to attract highly skilled people in a range of occupations to contribute to NSW skills needs and help drive economic growth. Due to an ongoing high demand and to ensure that places allocated under the programme are aligned to the skills needs of the state's economy, NSW has a selection-based invitation process for the 190 programme. Under this process, NSW selects and invites the most suitable applicants from SkillSelect to apply for NSW nomination.

Nomination by the state of New South Wales will provide:

•    Priority processing of your visa with the DHA
•    An additional 5 points for a Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190)
•    An additional 10 points for a Skilled Regional (provisional) visa (subclass 489)
•    An opportunity to seek work with an employer of your choice

NSW selection criteria

Applicants are selected from the Department of Home Affairs (DHA) SkillSelect database. NSW Department of Industry selects and invites the highest-ranking applicants in eligible occupations an an ongoing basis. There is no set time frame to expect an invitation after submitting an EOI and invitations are not guaranteed as the selection process is highly competitive, with applicants ranked in the following order:

  1. Occupation
  2. Australian Department of Home Affairs points score
  3. English language ability
  4. Skilled employment

Where applicants have the same ranking on the above criteria at the time of selection, they will be further ranked based on the date and time that their points were last updated in SkillSelect. The claims in your NSW nomination including points and occupation must match what was in your SkillSelect Expression of Interest (EOI) at the time NSW invited you to apply. This is because applicants are invited based on the information recorded in their SkillSelect EOI during selection.

To be considered for NSW selection you must:

  • Be under 45 years of age at the time of invitation
  • Have an occupation on the NSW 190 priority skilled occupations list
  • Have received a positive skills assessment from an Australian assessing authority
  • Have at least 65 points on the Australian Department of Home Affairs points test
  • Demonstrate you meet both NSW and DHA visa eligibility requirements
  • Be selected by NSW and received an invitation to apply for NSW nomination
  • Apply for NSW nomination within 14 days of being invited to apply
  • Have a commitment to living and working in NSW for at least the first two years


New South Wales Skilled regional nominated Programme (489)

The Skilled Regional Nominated (489) visa is a provisional skilled visa that allows you to live and work in in regional NSW for up to four years.

This visa provides a pathway to permanent residence. If you hold this visa and live for at least two years and work for at least one year in a specified region of NSW, you can apply for for a permanent visa (subclass 887) at a later stage.

Participating NSW regions

NSW Department of Industry works in partnership with participating Regional development Authorities (RDA) committees in NSW to deliver the 489 programme. Under this arrangement, NSW RDA's that choose to participate in the 489 programme can select and nominate applicants whose skills are needed in their region. Participating regions determine their own list of eligible occupations as well as any additional eligibility criteria. For detailed information on the eligibility criteria and application process, please contact Concept Australia

Seven regions in NSW participate in the 489 programme:

  • Far South Coast
  • Mid North Coast
  • Murray
  • Northern Inland
  • Orana
  • Riverina
  • Southern Inland

Key criteria

To apply for the 489 visa, applicants must:

  • Be under 45 years of age at the time of invitation
  • Meet the minimum Department of Home Affairs criteria for the 489 visa (65 points)
  • Have received a positive skills assessment from an Australian assessing authority
  • Have an occupation on the NSW 489 skilled occupations list
  • Meet any additional requirements set by that region
  • Have successfully obtained a 489 nomination from the participating RDA
  • Agree to live and work in the region that nominated you for two years.

What to do next

If you are interested in moving to New South Wales, please contact your nearest Concept Australia office for advice and assistance:

London Office - 20 minutes from London Bridge

Chislehurst Business Centre
1 Bromley Lane

Telephone: 020 8468 1076 or email:

Office hours:

Monday to Friday from 09:00 -17:30
Saturdays from 09:30 - 12.00 

Manchester Office

2nd Floor
Albion Wharf
19 Albion Street
M1 5LN

Telephone: 0161 669 5836 or email:

Office hours:

Monday to Friday from 09.30 - 17:00


What visa options are there?

Choose the best option for you:




SkillSelect – Invitation rounds

SkillSelect first allocates available places to Skilled – Independent (subclass 189) visas and then remaining to Skilled – Regional...


What our clients are saying

Fantastic news thank you very much for all your help! You and the team have been great.